The week of the banana

At the beginning of every new week in my pregnancy, I check out my Baby Bump iPhone app to see how Speckle is doing. It gives me his approximate weight and length, and compares his size to a fruit so that I have something tangible to compare our ‘invisible’ little person to. I’ve really enjoyed this feature but it’s given Col a few problems. You see Colin isn’t a fruit and veg fan, so his basis for comparison is somewhat limited. Poppyseed (week 4), olive (week 9), prune (week 10) and small cantelope (week 20) were all met with utterly blank looks. So this morning when I announced that Speckle is the length of a banana, Col’s reaction was, ‘Finally! A fruit I understand.’

When I told this story at work, Michelle (our boss lady) suggested that Col should eat the relevant fruit for that week so he can appreciate its size. All my previous attempts to get him to expand his nutritional palate have failed – maybe the Speckle comparison will have more success?

One thought on “The week of the banana

  1. Pingback: Humble pie (made from spaghetti squash) | The Sparkle and the Speckle

Leave a Reply

