Cayden and Keeno

The theme I had planned for Cameron’s nursery before the Dr Seuss baby shower changed everything was ‘Knights and (friendly) dragons.’ I had it all planned out, but it centred on these cute felt dragons I’d seen at the Irene Market in February and a dragon wall sticker I found on Amazon. When I tried to actually buy these items, the stall at Irene was no more and I discovered that Amazon wouldn’t ship that item to South Africa. I was disappointed, and in an effort to lift my spirits my Dad went on a dragon hunting mission. At Mr Price Home he found this awesome dinosaur which I decided would work as a dragon – albeit a wingless one.

At the baby shower a few days later, my dear friends Katy and Lee, who had been in on the dragon theme, presented me with the same dinosaur. Except that Katy took it one step further and sewed wings on it! When I changed my theme to Horton hears a who the matching dragons still earned a place in the nursery, purely on merit of the love and dedication that had gone into finding them. (Besides which it’s entirely possible that there are dragons/dinosaurs still living on Mount Nool.)

When Cameron was in ICU, there were twin girls named Cayden and Keeno in the beds next to him. They were born the day before Cameron, and were 35 weeks and 6 days to Cameron’s 35 weeks and 5 days. The nurses joked that Cameron would one day marry one of them (bets are on Cayden because ‘Cameron and Cayden’ has such a nice ring to it). One tends to strike up conversations with other moms in ICU, and on chatting to Karen, the girls’ mom,we discovered that we actually live in the same suburb. Friendships have started in stranger ways and perhaps Cameron and the girls will get to know each other after all. In the meantime, we’ve absorbed this part of Cameron’s story into the nursery by naming our twin dinosaurs after these special little girls!

One thought on “Cayden and Keeno

  1. Pingback: Cameron’s nursery completed | The Sparkle and the Speckle

Leave a Reply

