First trimester, second time round

From the beginning I am finding this pregnancy to be utterly different to my first. This doesn’t surprise me as I’ve heard from many people that each pregnancy is different, but some of the ways in which things are different have been surprising.

To begin with, I knew a week before I took a test that I was pregnant. What’s more, I trusted this intuition (which I am sure it was grateful for, because it took a real pounding when we were trying to fall pregnant with Cameron). I had intense cramps one Wednesday afternoon and after doing a few calculations realized they must be implantation cramps. After than it was just a matter of waiting long enough to take the test. Incidentally, those two pink lines were incredibly faint, but as I had none of the self-doubt of before, I confidently whispered the happy news into Colin’s ear none-the-less.

As for my physical symptoms, I only experienced a few days of nausea this time (ever so grateful for that), but the exhaustion was absolutely shattering. Chasing after a toddler made this more challenging, but as I wasn’t working this time I could rest a lot more. By happy coincidence my parents were staying with us for much of the time too and they provided much-needed Cameron-caring help. Another factor in the exhaustion is that when I fell pregnant I was still breastfeeding Cameron twice a day. After a few weeks I cut this back to only once, which helped marginally as well.

Emotionally though, I am finding this quite a tough pregnancy. For some reason the hormone mix of the first trimester left me feeling rather blue. I recognised that my view on things wasn’t realistic and made a concerted effort not to think too much! I didn’t journal at all, and tried to avoid the temptation to get all introspective. Strangely, I have also been plagued by nightmares which often leave me with an uneasy feeling at the start of the day.

A few weeks into my second trimester I am already sporting a noticeable bump. I’m also aware of numerous odd aches and pains, and have already paid my first visit to the physio for backache. But I am starting to feel more positive (even if I do still feel the need to cry at ridiculous times – like after voting in Wednesday’s national elections). My energy levels are starting to improve too. I even made it through today without taking a nap!

3 thoughts on “First trimester, second time round

  1. Ah Luce! I had to giggle at your need for a little cry after voting. I’m not pregnant 😉 but can relate totally to unforeseen outbursts of emotion. I featured up this morning when I though of the sandwich my mom usually makes for me… You know the one with lettuce and cheese and pepperdews and… sniff sniff…

  2. Ah Luce! I had to giggle at your need for a little cry after voting. I’m not pregnant 😉 but can relate totally to unforeseen outbursts of emotion. I featured up this morning when I though of the sandwich my mom usually makes for me… You know the one with lettuce and cheese and pepper fees and… Sniff sniff…

  3. Ah Luce! You write beautifully! I had to giggle at your need for a little cry after voting. I’m not pregnant 😉 but can relate to unforeseen outbursts of emotion. I teared up this morning when I thought of the sandwich my mom usually makes for me… You know the one with lettuce and cheese and pepperdews and… sniff sniff… 😉

Leave a Reply

