King Cameron the Cutest

My mom has this book of funny things my brother and I said and did when we were little. It’s always a source of amusement and I’ve read it countless times over the years. Cameron often has us laughing out loud these days and I’ve decided to record some of his antics on the blog. (FYI I’ll be using the category ‘Cuteness from Cam.)

Our little parrot

Cam’s vocabulary is exploding at the moment and he’s always trying to repeat words we say. A lot of the time he gets it right but his ‘toddler language’ is emerging and I’m having to play the role of interpreter more often. Inevitably this has led to a few potentially embarrassing moments, like when he suddenly started saying ‘Kak’ (Afrikaans for s**t) and it took us a few days to work out that he was trying to say ‘truck’.

He is also using his words very deliberately. The other day my parents were swinging him in a blanket and when they stopped he simply said, ‘More. Plees (please). Now.’ (We’re into the realms of trying to explain that just because one asks for something doesn’t mean one is going to get it!)

The gratitude game

Some months back Col and I started saying grace with Cameron before meals. He didn’t pay much attention at first, but suddenly about three weeks ago the concept caught on. He holds out his little hands and looks expectantly at Col or I until grace has been said. All very sweet – but the routine is repeated after every mouthful! (We’re capping grace at three or four repeats, and are far more aware of all we have to thank Jesus for these days.)

The paradox of parenting

At the moment parenting is a bit of a rollercoaster for me. Cameron is at a challenging age – pushing boundaries, throwing tantrums and displaying an astounding resistance to the word ‘No’! But at the same time he is just unbelievably cute and we are having such fun with him. The frequent fluctuations between frustration and fulfilment leave me emotionally exhausted but most of the time I fall asleep giggling as I think back on another day with King Cam.

Leave a Reply

